What your view of sports and life would be if you had too many concussions

The 2019 Dubsism Pro Football Hall of Fame Ballot – The Results Are In!

We will keep this short and sweet. Last night, the Pro Football Hall of Fame welcomed eight new members as part of it’s class of 2019. As we are wont to do here at Dubsism, we told you about our ballot, and offered you the chance to cast your own votes.

If you recall, potential inductees were listed in three categories; the Modern Era, the Contributors, and the Senior Finalist.  Since the Contributors and the Senior Committee finalists are almost always inducted, we focused on the Modera Era finalists.

All the votes have been cast, counted, and the results are in.  The players who received the official 2019 Dubsism vote for induction are shown in bold; the players who were inducted by the the actual Hall of Fame voters are shown in green, and the five players who would have been inducted by the Dubsism voters are noted with an asterisk*.

The Modern Era Finalists

  • John Lynch, Safety – 1993-2003 Tampa Bay Buccaneers, 2004-07 Denver Broncos – 6th year on ballot
  • Don Coryell, Coach – 1973-77 St. Louis Cardinals, 1978-1986 San Diego Chargers – 5th year on ballot
  • Alan Faneca*, Offensive Guard – 1998-2007 Pittsburgh Steelers, 2008-09 New York Jets, 2010 Arizona Cardinals – 4th year on ballot
  • Tony Boselli, Offensive Tackle – 1995-2001 Jacksonville Jaguars, 2002 Houston Texans – 3rd year on ballot
  • Isaac Bruce, Wide Receiver – 1994-2007 Los Angeles/St. Louis Rams, 2008-09 San Francisco 49ers – 3rd year on ballot
  • Edgerrin James, Running Back – 1999-2005 Indianapolis Colts, 2006-08 Arizona Cardinals, 2009 Seattle Seahawks – 3rd year on ballot
  • Ty Law, Cornerback – 1995-2004 New England Patriots, 2005, 2008 New York Jets, 2006-07 Kansas City Chiefs, 2009 Denver Broncos – 3rd year on ballot
  • Kevin Mawae, Center/Offensive Guard – 1994-97 Seattle Seahawks, 1998-2005 New York Jets, 2006-09 Tennessee Titans – 3rd year on ballot
  • Steve Atwater, Safety — 1989-1998 Denver Broncos, 1999 New York Jets – 2nd year on ballot
  • Steve Hutchinson*, Offensive Guard – 2001-05 Seattle Seahawks, 2006-2011 Minnesota Vikings, 2012 Tennessee Titans – 2nd year on ballot
  • Champ Bailey*, Cornerback – 1999-2003 Washington Redskins, 2004-2013 Denver Broncos – 1st year on ballot
  • Tom Flores, Coach – 1979-1987 Oakland/Los Angeles Raiders, 1992-94 Seattle Seahawks – 1st year on ballot
  • Tony Gonzalez*, Tight End – 1997-2008 Kansas City Chiefs, 2009-2013 Atlanta Falcons – 1st year on ballot
  • Ed Reed*, Safety – 2002-2012 Baltimore Ravens, 2013 New York Jets, 2013 Houston Texans – 1st year on ballot
  • Richard Seymour, Defensive End/Defensive Tackle – 2001-08 New England Patriots, 2009-2012 Oakland Raiders

The Contributor Finalists

  • Pat Bowlen, Owner – 1984-Present Denver Broncos
  • Gil Brandt, Vice President of Player Personnel – 1960-1988 Dallas Cowboys

The Senior Finalist

  • Johnny Robinson, Safety – 1960-1971 Dallas Texans/Kansas City Chiefs

Who I Voted For and The Order I Placed Them On My Ballot:

  1. Tony Gonzalez:  No tight end has ever inducted into Canton on either the first or second ballot Hall of Famer. In fact, there’s only eight Modern Era tight ends in the Hall at all.  But the greatest receiving tight end in the history of the game figures to change that.  Gonzalez ranks sixth in NFL history with 15,127 yards and seventh with 111 touchdowns. He was a six-time All-Pro, and his 14 Pro Bowls tie him with Merlin Olsen, Bruce Matthews, and Peyton Manning for the most in league history.
  2. Ed Reed: Reed may not be the greatest safety who ever played the game, but he certainly is the best of his generation. Reed should be the first at his position to gain induction on his first ballot since Ken Houston in 1986.  The 2004 Defensive Player of the Year led the league in interceptions three times occasions and was a five-time All-Pro.  Reed was also gifted return man being a serious threat to take the ball to the house.
  3. Champ Bailey: If you need to see a picture of Champ Bailey, just look up “shutdown corner” in the dictionary.  Bailey’s dozen Pro Bowl appearances puts him at the head of the clas for corners. Bailey led the NFL with 10 interceptions in 2006 and finished his 15-year career with 52 picks.
  4. Alan Faneca: A six-time All-Pro, Faneca would have made a seventh at guard had he not unselfishly moved to left tackle in 2003. Faneca also made the NFL’s All-Decade team of the 2000s.
  5. Steve Hutchinson: Along with Alan Faneca, he and Hutchinson were arguably the two best guards of their era. Hutchinson was a five-time All-Pro, including three consecutive years from 2007 to 2009 and appeared in seven Pro Bowls.

How The Dubsists Voted:

The Officlal Dubsism Ballot and the top five finishers in the vote from the Dubsists selected the same five players, albeit in a different order. Based off those votes totals, and assuming the sample size of the Dubsist votes is sufficient enough to mitigate the usual skews, it would seem that Kevin Mawae’s induction is not as much of a surprise as the main stream media might have you believe.  Mawae was only about 350 votes shy of the top five, which is especially impressive given that the Dubsists inducted two other offensive linemen which is a historically undervalued position in Canton.

The clear surprise is Ty Law’s inductions over Champ Bailey.  The official Dubsism ballot, the Dubsists votes, and the conventional wisdom all had Champ Bailey heading for Canton. All accounts had Ty Law in the “not this year, but soon” camp; we just didn’t know “soon” meant “now.”

You can see all the original comments on this year’s finalists here.

Got a question, comment, or just want to yell at us? Hit us up at  dubsism@yahoo.com, @Dubsism on Twitter, or on our Pinterest,  Tumblr, Instagram, Snapchat or Facebook pages, and be sure to bookmark Dubsism.com so you don’t miss anything from the most interesting independent sports blog on the web.

About J-Dub

What your view of sports would be if you had too many concussions

2 comments on “The 2019 Dubsism Pro Football Hall of Fame Ballot – The Results Are In!

  1. SportsChump
    February 3, 2019

    It’s a great day for football, my friend.

    Las Vegas has officially taken my over/under for Dorito’s eaten today off the board. Hope you bet the number while you had the chance.


    • J-Dub
      February 3, 2019

      Don’t worry, I’m all over your total times vomiting number.


Drop Your Comments Here

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s


This entry was posted on February 3, 2019 by in NFL, Sports and tagged , , .

The Man Behind Dubsism

Dubsism on Pinterest

Click On JoePa-Kenobi To Feel The Power Of The Jedi Photoshop Trick. Besides, you can get the best sports-related recipes ever. This is the sports-related content you are looking for.

Blog Directories

Dubsism - Blog Directory OnToplist.com

Blogarama - The Blog Directory

Total Dubsists Out There

  • 1,609,636 Dubsists



%d bloggers like this: