What your view of sports and life would be if you had too many concussions

Eighth Annual Dubsy Award Nominations

Norman Maine award scene

In what is becoming a Thanksgiving tradition here at Dubsism, today is the day we open the nomination period for our coveted awards for various achievements in the world of sport.  For the eighth January in a row, we here at Dubsism will be handing out our coveted awards.  Regardless of where you are reading this, the fact you are here means you likely have read a lot of other sports stuff, and therefore likely have a better idea of to whom to give these awards than do the drunken bunch of keyboard droolers on the staff here at Dubsism. You can always check out our previous awards should you have any questions as to the reasons for which the awards are given, and if you don’t know, you can also do web search on the people for whom the awards are named.  They are both telling and self-explanatory.

Having said that, here is the Dubsy award nomination ballot. Simply fill in your nominees (be sure to include pertinent facts; links to supporting evidence are always welcome, and depending on the reason for nomination, it may be required by the Dubsism legal department), then copy and paste your ballot into an email addressed to dubsism@yahoo.com.

There are very few criteria for submitting a ballot:

  1. One nominee per category per email.
  2. Nominees must come from the world of sport, and they must fit the category in which they are nominated.
  3. You do not need to nominate a winner in each category
  4. Nominees should have a national presence – as much as your local high school coach might be a perfect nominee, if the rest of us never heard of him, it doesn’t do any good. However, we are willing to make exceptions for awesome stories which have links to back them up.

We also will be giving honorable mentions to the best nominees which are pretty damn good, but didn’t win. For those, we will post your name and a link to your blog/webpage if you wish. If you don’t wish, then don’t give it to us…

Deadline for submission is 5 p.m. Eastern U.S. time on Friday, December 30th, 2016.

For more information on last year’s winners, click here.

The Mickey Klutts Award for Unfortunate Naming

  • Winner:
  • Honorable Mention:

Previous Winner:  Guilherme Crabogiale Fuck

The Bobby Knight Award for Achievements in Dramatic Public Meltdowns

  • Winner:
  • Honorable Mention:

Previous Winner: “Phyllis From Mulga”

The Bevo and Ralphie Award for Mascot Buffoonery

  • Winner:
  • Honorable Mention:

Previous Winner: Jaxson De Ville, Jacksonville Jaguars

The Budd Dwyer Award for Excellence in Career Suicide

  • Winner:
  • Honorable Mention:

Previous Winner: Jeffrey Sirois, former Girls Soccer Coach, E.O. Smith High School

The Ed Hochuli Award for the Best Call

  • Winner:
  • Honorable Mention:

Previous Winner: John Elway

The Jason Sehorn Award for Being Completely Overrated

  • Winner:
  • Honorable Mention:

Previous Winner: Rob Gronkowski

The Clinton-Nixon Award for Cover-Up Futility

  • Winner:
  • Honorable Mention:

Previous Winner: Sepp Blatter, former FIFA president

The Charles O. Finley Award for Achievements in Cheap

  • Winner:
  • Honorable Mention:

Previous Winner: AFC Bournemouth, English Premier League

The Joe Kapp Award for Being Run Out of Town

  • Winner:
  • Honorable Mention:

Previous Winner: Pep Hamilton, former Indianapolis Colts’ offensive coordinator

The Bobby Layne Award for Best Performance While Drunk

  • Winner:
  • Honorable Mention:

Previous Winner: Steven Anderson, Zamboni Driver

The Artis Gilmore Award for Achievements in Hair Boldness

  • Winner:
  • Honorable Mention:

Previous Winner: The kids from last year’s Minnesota State High School Hockey Tournament

The Kyle Orton Award for Achievements in Partying

  • Winner:
  • Honorable Mention:

Previous Winner: Former Major League outfielder Pat Burrell

The Vasily Alexseyev Award for Plus-Sized Achievement

  • Winner:
  • Honorable Mention:

Previous Winner: Ben Ancheff, Pitcher, St. Thomas University (Florida)

The Jamie Moyer Award for Excellence in Geriatrics

  • Winner:
  • Honorable Mention:

Previous Winner: Bartolo Colon

The Vinko Bogotaj Award For Epic Failure

  • Winner:
  • Honorable Mention:

Previous Winner: Purdue University

The Joe Theismann Award For Gruesome Injuries

  • Winner:
  • Honorable Mention:

Previous Co-Winners: Canadian Curler Brad Gushue and Saudi Arabian Soccer Player Emad Sahabi

The Gene Mauch Lifetime Achievement Award

  • Winner:

Previous Winner:  Frank Beamer

Email Dubsism at dubsism@yahoo.com, and follow us @Dubsism on Twitter, or on our Pinterest, Tumblr, Instagram, and Facebook pages.

About J-Dub

What your view of sports would be if you had too many concussions

One comment on “Eighth Annual Dubsy Award Nominations

  1. Pingback: The Sports Sewer – Episode 3: Ed Hochuli | Dubsism

Drop Your Comments Here

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s


This entry was posted on November 24, 2016 by in Humor, Sports and tagged .

The Man Behind Dubsism

Dubsism on Pinterest

Click On JoePa-Kenobi To Feel The Power Of The Jedi Photoshop Trick. Besides, you can get the best sports-related recipes ever. This is the sports-related content you are looking for.

Blog Directories

Dubsism - Blog Directory OnToplist.com

Blogarama - The Blog Directory

Total Dubsists Out There

  • 1,602,616 Dubsists


Want updates on these ramblings by email?

Comments? Suggestions?


Thoughts in 280 Characters or Less


%d bloggers like this: